Butternutty

Alright, knowing how hard some squashes are to peel, I understand the expensive grocery store pre-peeling/cubing model working on the masses. Or at least I would if it were Acorn, but it’s not, it’s always Butternut Squash- Queen of the easy-peel, cuts like butter squash. If you spend more than 10 minutes prepping a butternut squash you’re doing it wrong, so wrong that I can’t figure out how you could possibly be doing it wrong. Or maybe I accidentally did it right, and have never shared it with the world.

How I peel a butternut squash with finesse:

  1. cut off the bottom of the squash with a big knife
  2. think about vectors, and look at the Monroe-esque curves of the butternut squash.
  3. The curve on the underside slant (the one from lower-hip to bum) is easily taken care of by running your knife parallel to the squash around the circle
  4. stand your squash on end, for the next curve switch your knife to perpendicular and slice the peel off in small cuts using a downward motion from about halfway up the squash (top-hip to mid-hip). Cut the bottom half off of the squash.
  5. Divide the top part curves into straight lines by chopping at the axis points. The rest should slice easily
How I cube a butternut squash with sass:
  1. Take the bottom part turn it on it’s side and slice off 1″ off the top. Scoop out the guts (you could totally use this as a squash bowl now for cereal or whatever)
  2. slice the rest into 1″, stacking the slices and doing your cross cuts all at once.
  3. do the same with the top part, though I find just slicing your discs into quarters works great.
I was going to proceed directly to soup, but wanted to use a portion of the squash for a noodle bowl for lunch so I prepped it for roasting by placing it on a cookie sheet, dousing it in Olive Oil, quartering an onion and tossing in an unpeeled head of garlic and smooshed the oil in good adding salt and pepper and throwing it into a 350 oven for 40 minutes, checking and stirring at the half.
I pulled my portion as is and put the rest in a pot with vegetable stock, cutting off the bottom of the garlic and squeezing the cloves into the mess. Brought to a boil and then turned down to simmer about half an hour. In a few minutes I’ll finish it off with the hand blender and top with some nutmeg.
2 thoughts on “Butternutty

  1. Renee says:

    I just posted a recipe for Butternut Ravioli with Butternut, Sage & Pine Nut Pasta Sauce, and after all that, I was too lazy to outline the how’s and wherefore’s of peeling and cubing the squash, but now I see you’ve done the work for me!! I’ll add a link to your post, and thank you very much!

  2. […] a little more advice on peeling and cubing that darn hard-as-a-rock butternut squash?  Make Your Own Fun has a few tips that will help make the process just a little […]

Leave a Reply

